Minnesota Directory of Economic Development Organizations
Minnesota Directory of Economic Development Organizations.

Quick Facts

Minnesota Governor Mark Dayton

Minnesota Governor Mark Dayton

 

  • Capital: St. Paul
  • Population (2016): 5,519,952
  • Largest Cities (2016): Minneapolis, 413,651; St. Paul, 302,398; Rochester, 114,011; Duluth, 86,293; Bloomington, 85,319
  • Targeted Industries: Finance/Business Services, Renewable Energy, Medical Technology & Healthcare, Advanced Manufacturing, Agriculture, Information Technology
  • Key Incentives: Minnesota Investment Fund, Minnesota Job Creation Fund, Angel Tax Credits, Emerging Entrepreneur Fund, Minnesota Job Training Incentive Program, Minnesota Job Skills Partnership,  Greater Minnesota Job Expansion Program, FTZs, Pathways Program, TIF
  • GDP (2016): $335.1 billion*

*Bureau of Economic Analysis, U.S. Department of Commerce

minnesota

For the latest Minnesota incentives, click this link.

Koochiching Economic Development Authority (KEDA)

Paul Nevanen
Director
405 3rd Street, P.O. Box 138
International Falls, MN 56649
800-452-3569
paul@businessupnorth.com
www.businessupnorth.com/

The KEDA manages four business/industrial parks with over 130 acres, including a 90-acre site with FTZ #259 and rail access to the busiest rail port in North America.

State Listings

Minnesota Department of Employment & Economic Development (DEED)

Jeff Rossate
Executive Director
332 Minnesota Street, Suite E200
St. Paul, MN 55101
651-259-7493
jeff.rossate@state.mn.us
mn.gov/deed/business

 

Utility Listings

Otter Tail Company

Dale Umlauf
Economic Development Consultant
215 South Cascade Street
Fergus Falls, MN 56538-0496
218-739-8948
dumlauf@otpco.com
www.otpco.com/business-services/economic-development

Xcel Energy (MN)

Ryan Bruers
Economic Development Project Manager
414 Nicollet Mall
Minneapolis, MN 55401
612-330-7870
ryan.l.bruers@xcelenergy.com
www.xcelenergy.com

Minnesota Power

Nancy Norr
Director, Regional Development
30 West Superior Street
Duluth, MN 55802
218-722-2625
nnorr@mnpower.com
www.mnpower.com/company/economicdevelopment

East Central Energy

Mark Nelson
Business Accounts & Energy Services Manager
412 Main Avenue North, P.O. Box 39
Braham, MN 55006
763-691-2018
mark.nelson@ecemn.com
www.econdev.eastcentralenergy.com/ece

Dakota Electric Association

Mark Lofthus
Economic Development Director
4300 220th Street
West Farmington, MN 55024
651-463-6242
mlofthus@dakotaelectric.com
ecd.dakotaelectric.com/dakota-electric-association

Great River Energy

Tom Lambrecht
Manager, Economic Development Services
12300 Elm Creek Boulevard
Maple Grove, MN 55369
763-445-6105
tlambrecht@grenergy.com
www.greatriverenergy.com

 

Regional Listings

Saint Paul Area Chamber of Commerce

B. Kyle
President & CEO
401 North Robert Street, Suite 150
Saint Paul, MN 55101
651-265-2771
bkyle@saintpaulchamber.com
www.saintpaulchamber.com

West Central Initiative

Greg Wagner
Business & Economic Development Director
1000 Western Avenue
Fergus Falls, MN 56538-0318
218-739-2239
greg@wcif.org
www.wcif.org

Upper Minnesota Valley Regional Development Commission

Dawn Hegland
Executive Director
323 West Schlieman Avenue
Appleton, MN 56208
320-289-1981, ext. 101
dawn.hegland@umvrdc.org
www.umvrdc.org

UMD Center for Economic Development

Elaine S. Hansen
Director
11 East Superior Street, Suite 210
Duluth, MN 55802
218-726-7298
ehansen@d.umn.edu
www.umdced.com

The Northspan Group, Inc.

Randy Lasky
President & CEO
221 West First Street
Duluth, MN 55802
218-529-7561
rlasky@northspan.org
www.northspan.org

Saint Paul Port Authority

Tonya Bauer
Director of Strategic Development
380 St. Peter Street, Suite 850
Saint Paul, MN 55102
651-204-6228
tkb@sppa.com
www.sppa.com

Rochester Area Economic Development Inc.

Gary Smith
President
220 South Broadway, Suite 100
Rochester, MN 55904
507-288-0208
gsmith@raedi.com
www.raedi.com

Red Wing Port Authority

Shari Chorney
Business Development Director
315 West 4th Street
Red Wing, MN 55066
651-385-3639
shari.chorney@ci.red-wing.mn.us
www.redwingportauthority.org

Iron Range Resources & Rehabilitation Board

Steve Peterson
Executive Director of Development
4261 Highway 53 South
Eveleth, MN 55734
218-735-3002
steve.peterson@state.mn.us
www.ironrangeresources.org

Headwaters Regional Development Commission

Tim Flathers
Executive Director
P.O. Box 906
Bemidji, MN 56619-0906
218-333-6532
tflathers@hrdc.org
www.hrdc.org

Greater MSP

David Griggs
VP, Business Investment
400 Robert Street N. Suite 1600
Saint Paul, MN 55101
651-287-1367
David.Griggs@greatermsp.org
www.greatermsp.org

Greater Mankato Growth, Inc.

John Considine
Director of Regional Business Intelligence
1961 Premier Drive, Suite 100
Mankato, MN 56001
507-385-6640
jconsidine@greatermankato.com
www.greatermankato.com

Duluth Seaway Port Authority

Kate Ferguson
Director of Business Development
1200 Port Terminal Drive
Duluth, MN 55802
218-727-8525
kferguson@duluthport.com
www.duluthport.com

APEX (Area Partnership for Economic Expansion)

Brian Hanson
President & CEO
306 West Superior Street, Suite 902
Duluth, MN 55802
218-740-3667
brian@apexgetsbusiness.com
www.apexgetsbusiness.com

 

County Listings

Pennington County Economic Development

Christine Anderson
Director
405 3rd Street East
Thief River Falls, MN 56701
218-681-7387
caanderson@co.pennington.mn.us
co.pennington.mn.us

Wright County Economic Development Partnership

Duane Northagen
Executive Director
6800 Electric Drive, P.O. Box 525
Rockford, MN 55373
763-477-3086
dnorthagen@wrightpartnership.org
www.wrightpartnership.org

Itasca Economic Development Corporation (IEDC)

Mark Zimmerman
President & CEO
12 Northwest 3rd Street
Grand Rapids, MN 55744
218-326-9411
mzimmerman@itascadv.org
www.itascadv.org

Development Corporation of Austin/Mower County

John Garry
Executive Director
329 North Main, Suite 106-L
Austin, MN 55912
507-433-9495
jkgarry@austindca.org
www.austindca.org

Cass County Economic Development Corporation

Mike Paulus
Executive Director
303 Minnesota Avenue West, P.O. Box 1606
Walker, MN 56484
218-547-7262
mike.paulus@co.cass.mn.us
www.casscountyedc.com

 

City Listings

City of Isanti

Sean Sullivan
Economic Development Director
110 1st Avenue NW, P.O. Box 428
Isanti, MN 55040
763-444-5512
ssullivan@cityofisanti.us
www.cityofisanti.us

City of Orono

Jeremy Barnhart
Community Development Director
2750 Kelley Parkway
Orono, MN 55356
952-249-4626
jbarnhart@ci.orono.mn.us
www.ci.orono.mn.us

City of Elk River Economic Development Department

Amanda Othoudt
Director
13065 Orono Parkway
Elk River, MN 55330
763-635-1042
aothoudt@elkrivermn.gov
www.elkrivermn.gov

International Falls Economic Development Authority (EDA)

Kenneth R. Anderson
City Administrator
City Hall, 600 4th Street
International Falls, MN 56649
218-283-7983
kena@ci.international-falls.mn.us
www.ci.international-falls.mn.us

Virginia Economic Development Authority

Pamela LaBine
City Clerk
City Hall, 327 First Street South
Virginia, MN 55792
218-748-7500
plabine@virginiamn.us
www.virginiamn.us

Saint Paul Planning and Economic Development Department (PED)

Jonathan Sage-Martinson
Director
25 West 4th Street, Suite 1300
Saint Paul, MN 55102
651-266-6565
jonathan.sage-martinson@ci.stpaul.mn.us
www.stpaul.gov

New Ulm Economic Development Corporation

Jenny Eckstein
Vice President of Business Affairs
1 North Minnesota Street, P.O. Box 384
New Ulm, MN 56073
507-233-4302
jenny@newulm.com
www.newulm.com/economic-development/

Fairmont Economic Development

Linsey Preuss
Economic Development Coordinator
100 Downtown Plaza
Fairmont, MN 56031
507-238-3925
lpreuss@fairmont.org
www.fedamn.com/fairmonted

Moorhead Economic Development Authority

Cindy Graffeo
Director
City Hall, 500 Center Avenue, 4th Floor
Moorhead, MN 56561-0779
218-299-5302
cindy.graffeo@cityofmoorhead.com
www.cityofmoorhead.com

City of Minneapolis - Department of Community Planning & Economic Development

Miles Mercer
Manager, Business Development
105 5th Avenue South, Suite 200
Minneapolis, MN 55401
612-673-5043
miles.mercer@minneapolismn.gov
www.minneapolismn.gov/business

City of Maple Grove

Dick Edwards
Community Development Director
12800 Arbor Lakes Parkway N, P.O. Box 1180
Maple Grove, MN 55311
763-494-6045
dedwards@maplegrovemn.gov
www.maplegrovemn.gov

City of Detroit Lakes

Larry Remmen
Community Development Director
1025 Roosevelt Avenue
Detroit Lakes, MN 56502
218-846-7125
lremmen@cityofdetroitlakes.com
www.cityofdetroitlakes.com

City of Cambridge Economic Development

Stan Gustafson
Economic Development Director
300 Third Avenue NE
Cambridge, MN 55008
763-552-3209
sgustafson@ci.cambridge.mn.us
www.opportunitycommunity.com

City of Bloomington

Glen Markegard
Planning Manager
Bloomington Civic Plaza, 1800 West Old Shakopee Road
Bloomington, MN 55431-3027
952-563-8920
gmarkegard@bloomingtonmn.gov
www.bloomingtonmn.gov

Albert Lea Economic Development Agency

Ryan Nolander
Executive Director
2610 Y.H. Hanson Avenue, P.O. Box 370
Albert Lea, MN 56007
507-373-3930, ext. 206
ryannolander@growalbertlea.com
www.growalbertlea.com

Thief River Falls Economic Development Office

Rodney Otterness
City Administrator
405 Third Street East
Thief River Falls, MN 56701
218-681-2943
rotterness@citytrf.net
www.citytrf.net